Te Aka Whai Ora - Māori Health Authority has today announced the appointment of its four interim Regional Directors, tasked with providing leadership and advice on the strategic needs of regional communities under the new health reforms.

Te Aka Whai Ora Chief Executive, Riana Manuel, says these roles will be crucial in assisting the health system transition over the next six months.

“The interim Regional Directors will strengthen local functions and capacity, so the regions are prepared for the shifts required for our new health culture.”

The interim Regional Directors for each region, are:

  • Tracee Te Huia – Northern
  • Riki Nia Nia – Te Manawa Taki
  • Patrick Le Geyt – Central
  • Mata Cherrington – Te Waipounamu

Ms Manuel says each appointee has a long-standing and successful relationship with their respective region and she is confident they will take an approach that fits with the unique kaupapa of the area.

“Our interim Regional Directors will lead work across the region with their counterparts and colleagues in hospital and specialist services, primary and community care and public health.”

Te Aka Whai Ora has also confirmed the appointment of Dr Rawiri Jansen, previous clinical director of the National Hauora Coalition, as its interim Chief Medical Officer.

Ms Manuel says Te Aka Whai Ora will soon be calling for Expressions of Interest for its permanent Chief Advisor roles, including Chief Medical Officer and Chief Advisors for Nursing, Midwifery, Allied Health, and Kaimanaaki.

“We look forward to bringing more kaimahi on board with the expertise, experience and drive to work for equitable outcomes for Māori across Aotearoa.”

Back to the news

Last modified: